Department of Chemistry

Your Name
Friend's Email Address

Analytical Chemistry Professors elected AAAS Fellows

    Three analytical chemistry professors have been awarded the distinction of fellow from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society.

    R. Graham Cooks, the Henry Bohn Hass Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, for his contributions to the fields of analytical chemistry and mass spectrometry through innovations in ionization, ion chemistry and instrumentation.

    Scott A. McLuckey, the John A. Leighty Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, for his contributions to biological mass spectrometry through research in gas-phase ion chemistry and the development of novel instrumentation.

    Paul B. Shepson, professor of chemistry and department head, for his contributions to the elucidation of important chemical and photochemical processes that play central roles in air pollution and climate change.

    The distinction recognizes notable work to advance science or its applications, and fellows are elected by their peer members. The association will present 503 new fellows with the award on Feb. 19 during a special forum at its annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

    Five other Purdue professors were elected this year.

Read full press release

Source: Purdue University News Service

Related links: 

Cooks photo
Graham Cooks
Analytical Chemistry

McLuckey photo
Scott McLuckey
Analytical Chemistry

Shepson photo
Paul Shepson
Chemistry Department Head
Analytical & Atmospheric Chemistry

Paul Shepson, Head
Feedback | E-mail Webmaster

Purdue University, 560 Oval Drive, West Lafayette, IN 47907
(765) 494-5200
© 2010 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints
If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact the Webmaster at