Skip Navigation

Arun K. Ghosh

Arun Ghosh

My research group is involved in multidisciplinary research projects in the areas of synthetic organic, bioorganic and medicinal chemistry. Of particular interest, we are investigating:

Synthesis and biological studies of Bioactive Natural Products
Design and synthesis of Molecular Probes for Bioactive Peptides and Proteins
Structure-based Design of Enzyme Inhibitors for Alzheimer's Disease and AIDS
Development of Asymmetric methodologies (Catalytic and Stoichiometric)
Multicomponent Reactions (MCR) for Highly Functionalized Products 

The total synthesis and exploration biology of various medicinally important natural products are important parts of my group's research. These interests include the development of new synthetic methodologies, general strategies for synthesis and the study of important structure-function relationships. In this context, we are investigating the chemistry and biology of anticancer agents laulimalide, amphidinolides, peloruside A and opioid receptor antagonist salvinorin D. 

Another important research area in my group is the design and synthesis of molecular probes and nonpeptidal turn-mimics for biologically active peptides and proteins. We are currently studying critical ligand-binding site interactions of various proteolytic enzymes. This includes, memapsin 2, a very significant target for Alzheimer's disease as well as, HIV protease whose clinical effectiveness for the treatment of AIDS has been well recognized. Furthermore, we are involved in the development of asymmetric reactions based upon various intermolecular or intramolecular metal chelations. Of particular interest, we are investigating a variety of asymmetric syntheses including syn- and anti-selective aldol, hetero Diels-Alder, conjugate addition and multicomponent (MCR) reactions. 


  • BSc (Honors), Calcutta University, 1979
  • MSc, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, 1981
  • Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, 1985
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University, 1988


  • Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, 2010
  • CRSI Medal, the Chemical Research Society of India, 2012
  • Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, 2009
  • Elected Fellow, 2005
  • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, 2015
  • Herbert Newby McCoy Award, 2015
  • IUPAC-Richter Prize , 2010
  • Ian P. Rothwell Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry, 2009
  • Jeananne D. and James B. Chaney Research and Scholarship Achievement Award, College of Pharmacy, 2010
  • K. S. Memorial Honorary Medal for Excellence in Chemistry, RKMR College, 1979
  • Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame, 2013
  • National Institutes of Health - MERIT Award, 2011
  • National Scholar, Government of India, 1976
  • Novartis Chemistry Lectureship, 2010
  • Robert Scarborough Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry Award, 2008
  • Scientific Advisory Board, Channel Island Alzheimer's Research Institute, 2005
  • Sigma Xi Scientific Society, Pittsburgh, Graduate Research Excellence Award, 1985
  • The Seed for Success Award, 2007
  • Thompson Reuters Award in Medicinal Chemistry, 2010
  • University Scholar, University of Illinois , 1998


Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

Department of Chemistry, 560 Oval Drive, West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2084 | Telephone: (765) 494-5200 | Fax: (765) 494-0239

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Science IT

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact ScienceIT at