Skip Navigation

Scott A. McLuckey

Scott A. McLuckey

Research in this laboratory is devoted to understanding the chemistry of gaseous macro-ions. These ions are typically derived via electrospray of proteins, oligonucleotides, synthetic polymers, and clusters. The major tools for studying the ions are various forms of mass spectrometry with particular emphasis on the quadrupole ion trap mass spectrometer. The goals are to understand the underlying phenomena that direct the dissociation of high mass ions and the reactions of these ions with neutral molecules and with ions of opposite charge. In realizing these goals, new approaches to the analysis of macro-molecules are enabled. A significant degree of effort is, therefore, also expended towards the exploitation of gaseous macro-ion chemistry in chemical analysis. This effort involves both the development of novel experimental procedures as well as the construction of novel instrumentation. Current areas of interest are the rapid identification of proteins in complex mixtures, sequencing DNA, and structural analysis of dendritic polymers.


  • Ph.D., 1982, Purdue University
  • B.S., 1978, Westminster College


  • I.M. Kolthoff Lecturer - University of Minnesota Chemistry, 2016
  • American Society for Mass Spectrometry Distinguished Contribution Award, 2016
  • Thomson Medal- International Mass Spectrometry Foundation, 2016
  • Vellmer Fassel Lecturer, Iowa State, 2014
  • NIH MERIT Award- National Institute of General Medical Sciences, 2014
  • American Chemical Society Frank H. Field and Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry, 2012
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Theophilus Redwood Award in Analytical Chemistry, 2012
  • Hites Award for Outstanding Publication in JASMS, 2011
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science Elected Fellow, 2011
  • Purdue College of Science Graduate Mentor Award, 2011
  • Anachem Award presented by the National Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy , 2008
  • Herbert Newby McCoy Award, 2008
  • ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation, 2007
  • Curt Brunnee Research Award, International Mass Spectrometry Society, 2000
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory Scientist of the Year, 1999
  • Lockheed-Martin NOVA Award, 1999
  • Biemann Medal, American Society for Mass Spectrometry, 1997
  • Research Staff, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1984 - 1999
  • Wigner Fellow, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1983 - 1985
  • Visiting Scientist - FOM Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics, Amsterdam, 1983


Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

Department of Chemistry, 560 Oval Drive, West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2084 | Telephone: (765) 494-5200 | Fax: (765) 494-0239

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Science IT

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact ScienceIT at