Skip to main content

McLuckey receives ASMS honor


Writer(s): Steve Scherer


Professor Scott McLuckey has been named the 2016 recipient of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry’s Distinguished Contribution Award, the top scientific award of the ASMS. The award recognizes a focused or singular achievement in fundamental or applied mass spectrometry. The citation for his award reads: “For pioneering contributions to the understanding of the gas-phase ion/ion reactions of polyatomic molecules and their application in analysis with mass spectrometry.” The award will be made in conjunction with the Award Plenary Lecture at the upcoming ASMS Annual Conference in San Antonio.

This award has several other Purdue connections. McLuckey's major professor, R. Graham Cooks, received the award in 2006. Cooks' former Ph.D. student Vicki H. Wysocki received it in 2009. Former Purdue faculty members have also earned the award, Richard M. Caprioli in 2014 and Fred McLafferty in 2003.