Skip to main content

McLuckey awarded Thomson Medal


Writer(s): Steve Scherer


Professor Scott McLuckey has won the 2016 Thomson Medal from the International Mass Spectrometry Foundation. The award follows another prestigious honor McLuckey recently received – the American Society for Mass Spectrometry’s Distinguished Contribution Award.

The Thomson Medal is the premier award from the International Mass Spectrometry Foundation and is given for “Outstanding Achievements in Mass Spectrometry and Outstanding Service to International Mass Spectrometry.”  Nominations are made by the respective national member societies and winners are elected in a balloting process by a representatives from each national society.  The Thomson Medal will be awarded following an award lecture at the upcoming International Mass Spectrometry Conference to be held this coming August in Toronto.

Other Thomson Medalists with strong Purdue ties (i.e., faculty or post-doc) include: Fred McLafferty, John Beynon, Graham Cooks, Richard Caprioli, Michael Gross, and Marcos Eberlin.