Skip to main content

Violet Haas Award


Writer(s): Steve Scherer

The Department of Chemistry is being honored with the 2016 Violet Haas Award – the first time an entire department has been presented the award.

The award recognizes individuals, programs or departments at Purdue that have facilitated the advancement of women in hiring, promotion, education and salary, or have enhanced a positive professional climate for women at the University.

The department is being recognized for its success in recruiting tenure-track women faculty as evidenced by three distinguished professors: Jean Chmielewski, Hilkka I. Kenttämaa, and Mary Wirth. Also noted was the department’s effort to attract women graduate students and the number of women staff members in leadership positions.

Established in 1990, the award is named for Haas, an electrical engineering professor from 1962 to 1986, who was instrumental in the early development of the Purdue chapter of the Society of Women Engineers.

Our department will be recognized at a reception on Thursday, December 1, 2016 at 2:00-3:30pm in the PMU Anniversary Drawing Room, hosted by the Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence.

Watch: The Department of Chemistry receive the award.

Violet Haas Award group photo

Photo from the December 1, 2016 Awards Ceremony.

Read full story.