Skip to main content

Professor Claridge wins 2021 Murphy Teaching Award


Writer(s): Steve Scherer

Claridge, Shelley.jpg.jpg

Professor Shelley Claridge has been named a recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. She was surprised by College of Science Dean Patrick J. Wolfe during her CHM 115 virtual class, with help from Department Head Christine Hrycyna and General Chemistry Course Coordinator Marybeth Miller.

Past Murphy Award honorees in Chemistry include:

Mark Lipton (2018)

Marcy Towns (2012)

Dor Ben-Amotz (2011)

Jean Chmielewski (2009)

Chris Hrycyna (2006)

Mary Nahkleh (2005)

Cliff Kubiak (1989)

Fred Lytle (1984)

George Bodner (1980)

Joe Wolinsky (1973)

Robert Benkeser (1971)

Derek Davenport (1969)

Robert Livingston (1967)

The University's highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue's Teaching Academy, which provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

Read full story.