Skip to main content

Professor Chmielewski awarded Wetherill Medal



The Department of Chemistry has awarded its Wetherill Medal to Interim Dean of the College of Science and Chemistry Professor Jean Chmielewski in recognition of her exceptional and unusually meritorious service in successfully improving the diversity of Chemistry’s graduate student population.

The Wetherill Medal was established by the Department in 1990 to recognize outstanding service, teaching, or scholarship by one of its members.

In 2015, Jean completely reimagined the diversity efforts in the department and has worked tirelessly to implement her vision. She pioneered and implemented a multi-prong approach for the recruitment and retention of under-represented minority (URM) graduate students in our department, working closely and in partnership with our current and former URM graduate students to construct the Chemistry Diversity Initiative (CDI): A Graduate Student Program for Success. More recently, Jean worked with the CDI to implement many additional important improvements to our department to improve the climate for diversity.

Jean’s work and vision have been extremely successful and will have an enduring effect on our department.  As a testament to her success, Jean’s efforts have been recognized by the College and University, and her multi-prong strategy is being used as a model for other departments at Purdue.

“Jean’s tireless and long-standing efforts in this area inarguably embody the spirit of this award and we will officially present her with this honor at the Departmental Awards ceremony later this month,” said Department Head and 150th Anniversary Professor Christine Hrycyna.

Chemistry's Wetherill Medal recipients:

  • 2023    Jean Chmielewski
  • 2021    George Bodner
  • 2019    Pete Kissinger
  • 2013    Robert Wild
  • 2010    William Robinson
  • 2002    Richard Walton
  • 2000    Jonathan Amy
  • 1998    Henry Feuer
  • 1995    Jurgen Honig
  • 1992    Dale Margerum
  • 1990    Harry Morrison