Skip to main content

Dr. Scott McLuckey

Dr. Scott McLuckey

Research in this laboratory is devoted to understanding the chemistry of gaseous macro-ions. These ions are typically derived via electrospray of proteins, oligonucleotides, synthetic polymers, and clusters. The major tools for studying the ions are various forms of mass spectrometry with particular emphasis on the quadrupole ion trap mass spectrometer. The goals are to understand the underlying phenomena that direct the dissociation of high mass ions and the reactions of these ions with neutral molecules and with ions of opposite charge.

In realizing these goals, new approaches to the analysis of macro-molecules are enabled. A significant degree of effort is, therefore, also expended towards the exploitation of gaseous macro-ion chemistry in chemical analysis. This effort involves both the development of novel experimental procedures as well as the construction of novel instrumentation. Current areas of interest are the rapid identification of proteins in complex mixtures, sequencing DNA, and structural analysis of dendritic polymers.


  • B.S., Westminster College, 1978
  • Ph.D., Purdue University, 1982


  • American Society for Mass Spectrometry Distinguished Contribution Award, 2016
  • I.M. Kolthoff Lecturer - University of Minnesota Chemistry, 2016
  • Thomson Medal- International Mass Spectrometry Foundation, 2016
  • NIH MERIT Award- National Institute of General Medical Sciences, 2014
  • Vellmer Fassel Lecturer, Iowa State, 2014
  • American Chemical Society Frank H. Field and Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry, 2012
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Theophilus Redwood Award in Analytical Chemistry, 2012
  • Elected Fellow, 2011
  • Hites Award for Outstanding Publication in JASMS, 2011
  • Purdue College of Science Graduate Mentor Award, 2011
  • Anachem Award presented by the National Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy , 2008
  • Herbert Newby McCoy Award, 2008
  • ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation, 2007
  • Curt Brunnee Research Award, International Mass Spectrometry Society, 2000
  • Lockheed-Martin NOVA Award, 1999
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory Scientist of the Year, 1999
  • Biemann Medal, American Society for Mass Spectrometry, 1997
  • Research Staff, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1984
  • Visiting Scientist - FOM Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics, Amsterdam, 1983
  • Wigner Fellow, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, 1983


List of publications