Skip Navigation

The Amy-Mellon Lecture Series

The Amy-Mellon lectureship was established by the analytical faculty to assist their students in perceiving the origins of their subject through personal encounters with some of its pioneers.

The lecture is named after two individuals whose vision has contributed significantly to the success and growth of the science of analytical chemistry at Purdue University and throughout the world. Jon Amy and Guy Mellon have both made particular contributions to the development of instrumentation as a focal point for modern chemistry.

Melvin Guy Mellon was born in 1893 in Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, and graduated from Allegheny College. He served on the Purdue faculty from the time his Ph.D. graduation from Ohio State University in 1919 until his retirement in 1962. He then spent an active retirement planning and supervising the construction of the Brown Chemistry building, and writing, especially on the chemical literature. Among many other awards, Prof. Mellon was awarded honorary doctorates from Allegheny College, Mount Union College, and Purdue University. He died in 1993.

Jonathan W. Amy was born in 1923 in Delaware, Ohio. In the fall of 1948, he moved to Purdue to start graduate studies in chemistry and completed his Ph.D. in 1955. Dr. Amy had the unique vision for research in the chemical sciences involving a partnership between faculty, graduate students and a professional instrumentation staff by creating the Jonathan W. Amy Facility for Chemical Instrumentation. He was recognized by the American Chemical Society through its Chemical Instrumentation Award, by the Chemistry Department with the Wetherill Medal and the Amy-Mellon Lectureship, by Purdue University with an Honorary Doctor of Science degree in May 2014, as well as locally through the George Award for outstanding service to the community. Dr. Amy died in 2016.

Previous Guest Speakers:

  • 1991 William Heineman
  • 1992 Leroy Hood
  • 1993 Donald Hunt
  • 1994 Peter Kissinger
  • 1995 Janet Osteryoung
  • 1996 Joseph Keithley
  • 1997 Alexander Pines
  • 1998 Henry Freiser
  • 1999 Jonathan Amy
  • 2000 Allen Bard
  • 2001 Elaine Herron
  • 2002 Harry Pardue
  • 2003 James Anderson
  • 2004 Fred Lytle
  • 2005 Richard DiMarchi
  • 2006 Andy Ewing
  • 2007 Gary Hieftje
  • 2008 Mark Wightman
  • 2009 John T. Yates, Jr.
  • 2010 Jim Jorgenson
  • 2011 Sam Perone
  • 2012 Rick Van Duyne
  • 2013 Fred Regnier
  • 2014 Lloyd Smith
  • 2015 Norman Dovichi
  • 2016 Jeanne E. Pemberton
  • 2017 Mike Story
  • 2018 Steven Soper
  • 2019 Paul Bohn

Melvin Guy Mellon

Melvin Guy Mellon

Jonathan W. Amy

Jonathan W. Amy

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

Department of Chemistry, 560 Oval Drive, West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2084 | Telephone: (765) 494-5200 | Fax: (765) 494-0239

© 2020 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Science IT

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact ScienceIT at