Skip to main content

Freiser Memorial Lecture

Benjamin S. Freiser

The Freiser Memorial Lecture is in memory of Professor Benjamin S. Freiser (1951-1997) who was loved, appreciated, and respected by his family, friends, colleagues, and students.

He published 200 scientific papers in 20 years in the leading journals in chemistry and achieved international distinction in the citations of his peers which led to his being ranked high on the list of the 50 most cited scientists in the world.

Ben won the Purdue School of Science Top Ten Teachers Award six times and was a favorite member of the Chemistry faculty.

Previous Guest Speakers

2024 - Carlito Lebrilla, University of California, Davis

2023 - Ian Jardine, Thermo Fisher Scientific

2022 - David Clemmer, Indiana University, Bloomington

2021 - Albert J. R. Heck, Utrecht University, Netherlands

2020 - Jennifer Brodbelt, University of Texas, Austin

2019 - Evan Williams, University of California, Berkeley

2018 - Robert (Chip) Cody, JEOL

2017 - Robert L. Hettich, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

2016 - Vicki Wysocki, Ohio State University

2015 - David Russell, Texas A&M University

2013 - Veronica Bierbaum, University of Colorado

2102-  Richard Caprioli, Vanderbilt University

2011 - Cathy Costello, Boston University

2010 - Will Castleman, Penn State University

2009 - Raymond March, Trent University

2008 - Michael Gross, Washington University

2007 - Peter Armentrout, University of Utah

2006 - Catherine Fenselau, University of Maryland

2005 - Diethard Bohme, York University

2004 - John Fenn, Virginia Commonwealth University

2003 - Chuck DePuy, University of Colorado

2002 - Fred McLafferty, Cornell University

2001 - Helmut Schwarz,   Technische Universitat Berlin

2000 - Alan G. Marshall, Florida State University

1999 - Jack Beauchamp, California Institute of Technology